y Africa Run – The Umckaloabo foundation charity run

The Umckaloabo foundation charity run


Running for a good cause

Southern Africa is one of the world’s poorest regions. Many children there have limited opportunities to pursue an education, which means they have few perspectives in life. As Africa Runners, we want to do our part to help change these children’s lives for the better.

Africa Runners gather donations on an ongoing basis to help benefit the aid projects of the Umckaloabo Foundation. The Foundation creates schools and preschools in southern African countries so that children and young people there can grow up in a safe environment and receive a school education. This paves the way for them to have different life perspectives: it opens doors towards leaving poverty behind.

Run along with us and help out!

Join us: become part of the team of Africa Runners and help children with fewer prospects create a better future for themselves. And you can take part without even going to much trouble, since you can decide for yourself which event you want to turn into your Africa Run.

It doesn't matter whether you're running the New York Marathon or a 10K run, you can choose any event to make it your Africa Run to raise funds for children in Africa.

Send us a message at info@africa-run.de to let us know when, where and what distance you will cover, and we will include you in the team – free of charge. As soon as you are listed as a runner on our page, your friends, neighbors, family and colleagues can donate to your own personal Africa Run.

Africa Run 2021

Since once again only a few public events are being held in 2021, this year you have the option of turning your own personal race into an Africa Run. In cases like these, you can also send us an email informing us where and how long you want to run, and we will include you on the list.

Running together

Usually, once a year we invite Africa Runners to a race so that they can get to know one another in person. Unfortunately, the event intended for this will not take place this year. However, we want to help encourage a sense of team spirit, so we would be pleased if you scheduled your personal run for October 16th/17th and then sent us a picture when you’ve finished so we can publish it on our page. As mentioned above, though, you can also race on any other day that suits you: just let us know where, when and how long.


The Schwabe Group matches donations

And by the way: even the smallest of donations has twice the effect, because the Schwabe Group is matching every donation up to a maximum sum of € 50,000!


Donations support the expansion of a girls’ school in Malawi

This year we are supporting the expansion of the Lunyangwa Girls’ School in Mzuzu, Malawi, a country in which 30% of the population is illiterate. The local preacher, Pastor John Moyo, has set himself the goal of making it possible for every child to attend school and for girls in particular to be supported. We contribute to the work of Pastor John so that more children in this poor rural region can have schooling. After all, children with a good education are children with a future.

How exactly are donations used?

Classrooms
Additional new classrooms are scheduled to be built at the Lunyangwa Girls’ School, one of the oldest girls’ schools in the north of the country, and long-overdue repairs will be made. In some cases up to 70 children have to share a classroom.

School gardens
To help secure a good supply of food, we want to plant fruit trees and plant vegetable gardens at St. Mary and many other of the 260 elementary schools in Mzuzu dioscese so that the children have more to choose from in their school lunches.

Teacher training
Teachers can only teach well if they are trained well, which is why we want to create a network to bring together motivated and dedicated teachers in Mzuzu. There they will receive additional input in the form of workshops or coaching.

Malawi

Malawi Republic of Africa – independent since 1964
Capital: Lilongwe
Area: 118,480 km²
Inhabitants: 18,9 million (2019)
Population growth: 2,6% per Year (2018, World Bank)
Inflation approx.: 12.4% p.a.
Further information: www.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malawi

Malawi is one of the ten poorest countries in the world. 80% of the population live on the narrow yields of the small fields that they cultivate. On average, the children only go to school for 4.5 years. Even in good years, about 40% of children under five are malnourished. Many people are still affected by HIV / AIDS.

Another hunger crisis is currently looming, because the reserves and seeds have been used up due to the extreme droughts and floods (cyclone Idai) in recent years. The government and other actors have been supplying the population with emergency rations for some time. It is already foreseeable that the April 2020 harvest will not be enough until the next harvest cycle and that people will go hungry.

Malawi is a small inland country in southern Africa with an area of 118,000 km² and a population of almost 19 million people. Over 85% of this population live in rural areas and are subsistence farmers. Malawi is one of the poorest countries in the world. Over 29% of the population live in absolute poverty with less than a dollar a day. The situation is exacerbated by the high prevalence of HIV / AIDS of currently 12%. The Karonga diocese, one of the eight Roman Catholic dioceses in Malawi, was inaugurated on November 20, 2010 and has approximately 470,000 inhabitants in an area of 12,000 square kilometers.

Join us, support the runners and help the underprivileged children in africa.
Or participate by running for a good cause. We are looking forward to any kind of support!

I would like to join!

Donation Form


I would like to donate for my runner.

Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela

Madiba, as he is respectfully called, is like no other man and statesman for peace and reconciliation. Despite 27 years of imprisonment, he shook hands with the hitherto ruling white minority and ensured the return of South Africa to the world community. In his spirit we want to work for better educational opportunities and give the youth of Malawi better future perspectives. An important leitmotiv of his time as President of South Africa is:

Education is the most powerful weapon that u can use to change the world.

Help us in realizing more such projects.

I would like to donate directly


Of course there is also the possibility to donate directly for our projects supporting underpriviliged children in africa. This donation will also be doubled by the company Dr. Willmar Schwabe up to a total amount of €50,000!
Make a Donation

Great job! 150 Africa Runners raised 51.255 Euro

We did it! On October 4th the Africa Runners raised more than 50.000 Euros in donation!

Even though there was no running event in principle due to the corona pandemic in 2020, this year more than 150 Africa Runners worldwide have already raised 51,255 Euros in donations - in solitary runs, but united in the cause. As always, the Schwabe Group matches all donations by up to 50,000 Euros. This results in a total amount of 101,255 Euros with which the Umckaloabo Foundation is supporting the construction of the St. Mauritius Secondary School in Malawi. It is good to see that solidarity continues in times of crisis and that you - as runner or donor - help us to continue our educational projects in southern Africa even in difficult times. Please visit www.eine-schule-in-afrika.de for further information about the construction of the St. Mauritius Secondary School.

We say thank you from the bottom of our hearts to all runners and donors!

Africa Run 2019

More than 70 marathon, half-marathon and relay runners raised over 60,000 euros in donations in 2019. For the first time both in Karlsruhe and Cologne larger Teams were part of the Africa Run and first runners joined in Switzerland. The first € 50,000 was matched by the Schwabe company, making a total of € 112,370 available. What a great result. A big thank you to all runners, the many small and large donors, supporters before and at the run as well as the Schwabe groups of companies. It was a great event with a great result. We look forward to the Africa Run 2020! We are planning to build a second school in Malawi.

Siabonga Kakhulu!

Africa Run 2018

Nearly 80 marathon, half-marathon and relay runners raised over 70,000 euros in donations in 2018 as part of the Africa Run of the Umckaloabo Foundation worldwide and at our joint run in Karlsruhe. The first € 50,000 was matched by the Schwabe company, making a total of € 120,000 available. This has exceeded our expectations again! With the proceeds in 2018, the secondary school in Phoenix near Durban / South Africa can be expanded and renovated. A big thank you to all runners, the many small and large donors, supporters before and at the run as well as the Schwabe groups of companies. It was a great event with a great result. We look forward to the Africa Run 2019!


Siabonga Kakhulu!

Africa Run 2017

What a RUN! The incredible amount of 63,000 euros in donations have been raised by almost 50 marathon, half-marathon and relay runners as part of the Africa Run of the Umckaloabo Foundation 2017 worldwide (USA, South Africa, Switzerland and Germany) as well as at our joint run in Cologne. This amount was matched with 37,000 euros by the Schwabe group of companies, so that € 100,000 are made available. Again our expectations were exceeded. The proceeds will be used to sponsor the secondary school of the Franciscan Sister Loice Kashangura in a Lusaka township. A big thank you to all runners, the many donors of small and large amount, helpers before and during the run as well as the Schwabe Group. It was a great event with a great result.

Siabonga Kakhulu!

Africa Run 2016

What a great team! Incredible 33.000 Euro of donations have been „run“ by more than 30 Marathon, Half-Marathon and Relay runners at the Karlsruhe Marathon and many other running events in Germany, South Africa and Switzerland. This sum has been doubled by the pharmaceutical company Dr. Willmar Schwabe. So in total 66.000 € were available to develop a secondary school together with Father John in Nthalire/Malawi. That has by far exceeded our expectations and we would like to thank all sponsors, volunteers, supporters and the pharmaceutical company Dr. Willmar Schwabe. It has been a great event and a great success.

Siabonga Kakhulu!

Africa Run 2015

The 20 marathon, half-marathon and relay runners in the context of the Africa Run of the Umckaloabo Foundation and the Nangu Thina e.V. 2015 at our joint run in Cologne have experienced an extraordinary donation of 17,000 €. Under the leadership of the Chief Scout of South Africa Sibusiso Vilane we went in the best weather at the start. This amount of 15.000 € was doubled by the Schwabe Group, so that a total of 30,000 € is available. An enormous amount that we did not expect. The proceeds will be used to fund Scouts South Africa. Nationwide, 100 projects of early childhood education are being implemented by scout groups and the necessary materials will be financed through these funds. A big thank you to all runners, the many small and large donors, helpers before and during the run as well as the Schwabe Group. It was an amazing experience.

Contact


Just contact us.

You have further questions about the donation run, our projects, or how you can participate and support?
Just send us an e-mail or give us a call.

You will also find further information at:
www.umckaloabo-stiftung.de, www.nangu-thina.de, www.sinothando.de and www.badenmarathon.de

  • Uwe Bothur, Willmar-Schwabe-Str. 4, 76227 Karlsruhe
  • +49-221-976 112 12
  • info@africa-run.de

Der Spendenlauf der Umckaloabo-Stiftung


Laufen für den guten Zweck

Das südliche Afrika zählt zu den ärmsten Regionen der Welt. Viele Kinder wachsen dort ohne schulische Bildung auf. Es erwartet sie ein Leben ohne Perspektiven. Als Africa Runner wollen wir unseren Teil dazu beitragen, diesen Zustand zu ändern.

Africa Runner sammeln laufend Spenden, die den Hilfsprojekten der Umckaloabo-Stiftung zugutekommen. Denn: Die Stiftung baut im südlichen Afrika Schulen und Kindergarten und schafft dadurch Kindern und Jugendlichen die Möglichkeit in einem geschützten Rahmen aufzuwachsen und eine Schulbildung zu erhalten. Kindern und Jugendlichen wird so die Grundlage für ein Leben mit Perspektive geschaffen. Es wird ihnen ein Weg geebnet, um ein Leben in Armut hinter sich zu lassen.

Lauf mit, hilf mit!

Machen Sie bei uns mit, werde Sie Teil des Africa-Runner-Teams und verhelfen Sie Kindern ohne Perspektive zu einem besseren Leben und der Chance dieses selbst zu gestalten. Und mitmachen funktioniert bei uns ganz einfach, weil Sie entscheiden, welchen Lauf Sie zu Ihrem Africa Run machen.

Ganz egal, ob Sie beim New York Marathon starten oder an einem 10-Kilometer-Lauf teilnehmen, Sie können jede Veranstaltung nutzen, um diese zu Ihrem Africa Run zu machen, um dadurch Spenden für Kinder in Afrika zu sammeln.

Nennen Sie uns per E-Mail an info@africa-run.de einfach den Lauf bzw. die Veranstaltung, die Sie zu Ihrem Africa Run machen möchten und wir nehmen Sie ins Team auf – kostenlos und ohne Verpflichtungen. Sobald Sie auf unserer Seite als Spendenläufer geführt sind, können Freunde, Bekannte oder Kolleginnen und Kollegen für Ihren Africa Run spenden.

Africa Run 2021

Da auch in 2021 nur wenige Veranstaltungen stattfinden, können Sie auch dieses Jahr wieder einen privaten Lauf zu Ihrem Africa Run machen. Teilen Sie uns auch in diesem Fall per E-Mail mit, wann Sie wo und wie lange laufen möchten und wir nehmen Sie in die Liste der Spendenläufer auf.

Gemeinsam Laufen

Einmal im Jahr laden wir für gewöhnlich dazu ein, bei einer Laufveranstaltung zu starten, damit wir Africa Runner uns auch persönlich wiedersehen oder neu kennenlernen können. Leider findet der hierfür vorgesehene Turmberglauf in Karlsruhe-Durlach 2021 nicht statt. Um trotzdem ein wenig Gemeinschaftsgefühl aufkommen zu lassen, würden wir uns freuen, wenn Sie Ihren privaten Lauf für den 16./17. Oktober einplanen und uns im Anschluss ein Bild von Ihrem Lauf senden, das wir dann auf unserer Seite veröffentlichen. Sie können aber auch wie geschildert an jedem anderen Tag des Jahres starten, melde Sie sich einfach bei uns.

Schwabe-Gruppe verdoppelt Spenden

Übrigens: Jede noch so kleine Spende hilft doppelt, denn die Firmengruppe Dr. Willmar Schwabe verdoppelt jeden unserer erlaufenen Euro bis zu einem Gesamtspendenbetrag von 50.000 Euro!


Spenden unterstützen den Ausbau einer Mädchenschule in Malawi

Dieses Jahr unterstützen wir den Ausbau der Lunyangwa Mädchenschule in Mzuzu/Malawi: In Malawi sind über 30 Prozent der Bevölkerung Analphabeten. Der ansässige Pfarrer John Moyo hat sich zum Ziel gemacht, jedem Kind die Teilnahme am Schulunterricht zu ermöglichen und gerade die Mädchen zu fördern. Wir unterstützen Pfarrer John, damit mehr Kinder in dieser sehr armen, ländlichen Region lernen können. Denn Kinder mit guter Schulbildung sind Kinder mit Zukunft.

Wofür werden die Spenden konkret eingesetzt?

Klassenräume
An der Lunyangwa-Mädchenschule, eine der ältesten Mädchenschulen im Norden des Landes, sollen neue, zusätzliche Klassenräume entstehen und längst überfällige Reparaturen erledigt werden. Über 70 Schülerinnen müssen sich teilweise einen Klassenraum nutzen.

Schulgärten
Im Sinne der Ernährungssicherung wollen wir an St. Mary und vielen anderen der 260 Grundschulen in der Diözese Mzuzu Obstbäume pflanzen und Gemüsegärten anlegen, um damit den Schulspeiseplan zu ergänzen.

Lehrerfortbildung
Nur gut ausgebildete Lehrer können gut unterrichten. Daher wollen wir motivierte und engagierte Lehrerinnen und Lehrer in Mzuzu in einem Netzwerk zusammenbringen. Dort erhalten sie zusätzlichen Input zum Beispiel in Workshops oder Coachings

Malawi

Republik Malawi – unabhängig seit 1964
Hauptstadt: Lilongwe
Fläche: 118,480 km²
Einwohnerzahl: 18,9 million (2019)
Bevölkerungs­entwicklung: +2,6% pro Jahr (2018, Weltbank)
Inflation geschätzt.: 12.4% p.a.
Weitere Informationen: www.de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malawi

Malawi ist ein kleines Binnenland im südlichen Afrika mit einer Fläche von 118.000 km2 und einer Bevölkerung von knapp 19 Millionen. Über 85 % der Bevölkerung leben in ländlichen Gebieten und sind Subsistenzlandwirte. Malawi ist eines der ärmsten Länder der Welt. Über 29 % der Bevölkerung leben in absoluter Armut, d. h. von weniger als einem Dollar pro Tag. Die Situation wird durch die hohe HIV-/AIDS-Prävalenz von derzeit 12 % verschärft. Die Karonga-Diözese, eine der acht römisch-katholischen Diözesen in Malawi, wurde am 20. November 2010 eingeweiht. Sie umfasst ca. 470.000 Einwohner auf einer Fläche von 12.000 Quadratkilometern.

Machen Sie mit, unterstützen Sie die LäuferInnen und helfen Sie benachteiligten Kindern in Afrika.
Oder laufen Sie zusammen mit uns für den guten Zweck. Wir freuen uns über jede Unterstützung!

Ich möchte mitmachen!

Spendenformular


Ich möchte für meinen Läufer spenden.

Gehen mehr Spenden ein, als für das Projekt benötigt werden, fördern wir ähnliche Bildungsprojekte im südlichen Afrika.

Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela

Madiba, wie er respektvoll auch genannt wird, steht wie kein zweiter Mensch und Staatsmann für Frieden und Versöhnung. Trotz 27jähriger Gefangenschaft reichte er der bis dahin regierenden weißen Minderheit die Hand und sorgte für die Rückkehr Südafrikas in die Weltgemeinschaft. In diesem Sinne wollen wir uns für bessere Bildungschancen einsetzen und der Jugend von Malawi bessere Zukunftsperspektiven bieten. Ein für uns wichtiges Leitmotiv seiner Zeit als Präsident Südafrikas lautet:

Education is the most powerful weapon that u can use to change the world.

Machen Sie mit uns gemeinsam mehr solcher Projekte möglich.

Ich möchte direkt spenden


Selbstverständlich können Sie auch direkt für unsere Projekte zugunsten benachteiligter Kinder in Afrika spenden.
Auch diese Spende wird bis zu der Höchstsumme von 50.000 Euro von der Firmengruppe Dr. Willmar Schwabe verdoppelt!
Jetzt spenden

Das war großartig! 150 Africa Runner erlaufen 51.255 Euro

Sie haben es geschafft! Am 4. Oktober haben die Africa Runner die Spendenschallmauer von 50.000 Euro geknackt!

Auch wenn es aufgrund der Corona-Pandemie im Jahr 2020 im Prinzip keine Laufveranstaltung gab, haben dieses Jahr weltweit bereits mehr als 150 Africa Runner 51.255 Euro an Spenden erlaufen – im (gem)einsamen Lauf, doch in der Sache vereint. Wie immer verdoppelt die Unternehmensgruppe Schwabe alle Spenden um bis zu 50.000 Euro. Damit ergibt sich ein Betrag von insgesamt 101.255 Euro, mit dem die Umckaloabo-Stiftung den Bau der St. Mauritius Secondary School in Malawi unterstützt. Es tut gut zu sehen, dass Solidarität auch in Krisenzeiten funktioniert und Sie uns – als Läufer oder Spender – auch in schwierigen Zeiten helfen, unsere Bildungsprojekte im südlichen Afrika fortzusetzen. Unter www.eine-schule-in-afrika.de finden Sie aktuelle Informationen zum Bau der St. Mauritius Secondary School.

Wir sagen allen Läufern und Spendern von Herzen Danke!

Africa Run 2019

Über 70 Marathon-, Halbmarathon- und Staffelläufer haben 2019 im Rahmen des Africa-Runs der Umckaloabo-Stiftung weltweit über 60.000 Euro an Spendengeldern erlaufen. Erstmals haben wir in Karlsruhe und in Köln größere Teams an den Start gebracht und auch in der Schweiz sind erstmals Läufer gestartet. Die ersten 50.000 € wurde von der Firmengruppe Dr. Willmar Schwabe verdoppelt, sodass insgesamt 112.370 € zur Verfügung stehen. Wir freuen uns , dass erneut ein so hoher Betrag zusammen gekommen ist. Mit dem Erlös 2019 kann die Sekundarschule in Whittelsea im Eastern Cape/Südafrika ausgebaut und saniert werden. Ein riesiges Dankeschön an alle Läufer, die vielen kleinen und großen Spender, Helfer vor und bei dem Lauf sowie die Unternehmensgruppe Dr. Willmar Schwabe. Es war ein toller Event mit einem großartigen Ergebnis. Wir freuen uns auf den Africa Run 2020! Dann wollen wir erneut eine Schule in Malawi aufbauen.

Siabonga Kakhulu!

Africa Run 2018

Fast 80 Marathon-, Halbmarathon- und Staffelläufer haben 2018 im Rahmen des Africa-Runs der Umckaloabo-Stiftung weltweit sowie bei unserem gemeinsamen Lauf in Karlsruhe über 70.000 Euro an Spendengeldern erlaufen. Die ersten 50.000 € wurde von der Firmengruppe Dr. Willmar Schwabe verdoppelt, sodass insgesamt 120.000 € zur Verfügung stehen. Das hat unsere Erwartungen erneut übertroffen! Mit dem Erlös 2018 kann die Sekundarschule in Phoenix bei Durban/Südafrika ausgebaut und saniert werden. Ein riesiges Dankeschön an alle Läufer, die vielen kleinen und großen Spender, Helfer vor und bei dem Lauf sowie die Unternehmensgruppe Dr. Willmar Schwabe. Es war ein toller Event mit einem großartigen Ergebnis. Wir freuen uns auf den Africa Run 2019!

Siabonga Kakhulu!

Africa Run 2017

Unglaubliche 70.000 Euro Spendengelder haben fast 50 Marathon-, Halbmarathon- und Staffelläufer im Rahmen des Africa-Run der Umckaloabo Stiftung 2017 weltweit sowie bei unserem gemeinsamen Lauf in Köln erlaufen. Die ersten 30.000 € wurde von der Firmengruppe Dr. Willmar Schwabe verdoppelt, so das 100.000 € zur Verfügung stehen. Erneut wurden unsere Erwartungen übertroffen. Mit dem Erlös wird die Sekundarschule von Sr. Loice in Lusaka/Sambia aufgebaut. Ein riesiges Dankeschön an alle Läufer, die vielen kleinen und großen Spender, Helfer vor und bei dem Lauf sowie die Unternehmensgruppe Schwabe. Es war ein toller Event mit einem großartigen Ergebnis. Wir freuen uns auf das nächste Jahr.

Siabonga Kakhulu!

Africa Run 2016

Das Team war Spitze! Unglaubliche 33.000 Euro Spendengelder haben über 30 Marathon-, Halbmarathon- und Staffelläufer im Rahmen des Africa-Run der Umckaloabo Stiftung 2016 weltweit sowie bei unserem gemeinsamen Lauf in Karlsruhe erlaufen. Dieser Betrag wurde von der Firmengruppe Schwabe verdoppelt, so das 66.000 € zur Verfügung stehen. Erneut wurden unsere Erwartungen übertroffen. Mit dem Erlös wird die Sekundarschule von Pfarrer John in Nthalire/Malawi aufgebaut. Ein riesiges Dankeschön an alle Läufer, die vielen kleinen und großen Spender, Helfer vor und bei dem Lauf sowie die Unternehmensgruppe Schwabe. Es war ein toller Event mit einem großartigen Ergebnis. 

Siabonga Kakhulu!

Africa Run 2015

Außerordentliche 17.000 Euro Spendengelder haben die 20 Marathon-, Halbmarathon- und Staffelläufer im Rahmen des Africa-Run der Umckaloabo Stiftung und des Nangu Thina e.V. 2015 bei unserem gemeinsamen Lauf in Köln erlaufen. Unter dem Leitung des Chief Scout von Südafrika Sibusiso Vilane gingen wir bei bestem Wetter an den Start. Dieser Betrag wurde von der Firmengruppe Schwabe verdoppelt, so dass insgesamt 30.000 € zur Verfügung stehen. Eine enorme Summe, mit der wir nicht gerechnet hätten. Mit dem Erlös werden die Pfadfinder in Südafrika gefördert. Landesweit werden 100 Projekte der frühkindlichen Bildung durch Pfadfindergruppen umgesetzt und die notwendigen Materialien finanziert. Ein großes Dankeschön an alle Läufer, die vielen kleinen und großen Spender, Helfer vor und bei dem Lauf sowie die Unternehmensgruppe Schwabe. Es war ein toller Event mit einem großartigen Ergebnis.

Siabonga Kakhulu!

Kontakt


Sprechen Sie uns einfach an.

Sie haben noch weitere Fragen zum Spendenlauf, unseren Projekten oder wie Sie sich beteiligen können.
Dann schreiben Sie uns einfach oder nehmen telefonisch Kontakt mit uns auf.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie auch unter:
www.umckaloabo-stiftung.de, www.nangu-thina.de, www.sinothando.de und www.badenmarathon.de